Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Bodnant Butterflies

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding yesterday’s overlong journal entry. I’ve been concentrating on catching up with journals, but will respond today - though I know that’s not expected. 

Meanwhile, life carries on, and we’re enjoying our two days of summer! The sunshine tempts us to Bodnant, G dropping me off by the cafe to avoid the car park walk. My walking pole is back - more as security than absolute necessity - and I do my now ‘usual’ shortish walk to the terraces while G heads for The Far End. 

I’m disappointed by the lack of butterflies, and have no energy to chase the dragons, but as always it’s just beautiful to be there, sitting tentatively on the grass just looking at the beauty all around. 

I make my way back, edging the meadows where most of the wild flowers have now finished, a distinctly autumnal look pervading. Tiny blues flit round at speed, way beyond my reach, and eventually at the circular bed I find my butterflies, including my first peacock of the year. 

Whilst it’s wonderful to be out in the sunshine, it soon becomes apparent that this relative heat is making me lightheaded, and the walk back to the cafe seems so long. Still, Bodnant’s beauty’s always worth the effort! 

My main today’s the peacock, with a small tortoiseshell in extras. And I’ve added a comma and red admiral taken on a previous visit that somehow never made it onto blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.