Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Spud-U-Like

There's nothing much beats the flavour of a home grown freshly dug potato, simply steamed and served with a knob of butter, is there?  I've grown potatoes in the past; once in my last house I think I grew enough to keep all the local chip shops supplied for a month; needless to say, even though I stored them as best I could, a lot went to waste.  I then tried these potato growing bags and that was much more successful.

Fast forward to now.  I don't have anywhere in my garden I could grow vegetables and in any event, I thought it would be too late to plant them in August.  However, in the garden centre a few days ago I spotted a pack of 'Charlotte' seed potatoes which said 'plant now for new potatoes at Christmas'.  How could I refuse?  I put them in today and will keep topping up the compost as they grow until it reaches the top of the bags and hopefully, I'll be tasting some lovely new potatoes in December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.