StephenF

By StephenF

The path ahead

This has been a poignant day. We had been told by her daughter, Julie, that our dear friend, Mary, was nearing the end of her life. My wife went to the care home to see her on Tuesday and we both went today. Julie had been called in earlier and she was there with her husband. Mary was clearly nearing the end but we spoke to her. I like to think that she could hear us. My wife, and another of Mary's friends, were with her when she passed away peacefully early this evening. I had left earlier and on the way out I looked down this sun-dappled path leading away from the care home and wondered what path lay ahead for Mary. She had lost both legs in the latter years of her life due to a combination of hospital negligence and later health complications but her spirit, sense of fun and zest for life were undimmed. She made it to her 88th birthday a few weeks ago and insisted I sing her Happy Birthday which I did in the style of Elvis Presley, which brought a smile to her face. I hope she will be whole again, in body as well as soul, on the path ahead. RIP Mary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.