pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

It’s sticky

I was primed to have a very bad day.

There was a meeting in the office that I had been called to as part of a team of executives and apparently some of the people we work with needed to get some stuff off their chests.

Can’t say that I was overly impressed at being on a sticky wicket as I thought I had a good, open working relationship with them and any issues were addressed in the moment rather than being allowed to fester.

There were a couple of “banana skin” cases to resolve too and then after that there was a drive down to my best friend’s house for our annual fishing trip.

The meeting went a lot better than expected and I was pleased to have one of my colleagues (who had called it) gently pull me aside after to tell me that “that wasn’t about you, we like working with you.”

Shortly thereafter, the two banana skins were safely navigated and renewed with us for another year, which left me in general good humour as I left the office for the drive down South.

With the traffic behaving and podcasts and a banging playlist to keep me company, the drive was an absolute breeze and I arrived in good time for a drink and catch up with two of my oldest friends who have the loveliest of homes.

We were joined by the third member of our party a little later on and it was nice to catch up too with my friend’s daughter who kept us all entertained with her newly purchased bag of small toys and seeing which of them could stick to the ceiling for the longest.

I was grateful for her efforts as I hadn’t taken a photo all day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.