kwchas

By kwchas

Making Tracks III

There is currently a model railway display in Chester Cathedral built by Pete Waterman and the Railway Modelling Group. It is 64ft long and 14ft wide, took 6 months to build and is modelled on Milton Keynes railway station. It is a very impressive construction.

Pete Waterman made his name as a DJ and record producer (think Stock, Aitken and Waterman) but these days he seems to be known for his enthusiasm for model railways. He was at the display today so I had  a chat with him and was taken with his knowledge and passion for the project. There were flyers for a Christmas display at Blakemere, which is down the road from us, so I asked him  about that and he was describing all the technicalities to me. I think he could have talked all day.

I have a lot of time and admiration for keen hobbyists, regardless of the subject, so I really enjoyed it. For the model railway enthusiasts on blip he told me he had a new programme coming out on Channel 4 next month when he will be visiting model railways around the country. Sounds like it would suit a lot of blippers.

The main blip shows a convincing close up while the extra is a wider view. It is sharper large.

Album of the Day - Ocean Rain - Echo and the Bunnymen (1980)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.