TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Day After

While S went to walk Saffy I drove up to mum’s flat to empty out some of her display cabinet. I washed it in warm soapy water and dried them then wrapped in tissue and put in a shoe box. Mum was a great collector over the years. Waaaay back it was little teaspoons , a small collection of China thimbles, Swarovski Crystal little ornaments, key rings from friends that went to every part of the globe it seems as there are two old roses Tins full, then that stopped and it was fridge magnets. Used to be pound and two pound coins in giant whisky bottles, and then there are boxes of very old family birthday cards, special anniversary cards and cards from when I was christened. Things I don’t feel like chucking.

When at Isla Court I met Gillian and Kirsty and chatted to them - they were at the service of both Aileen then straight into mum’s an hour later.

Call from the florist to say she had made the spray into three posies and would be dropping it into the undertaker office so would get it from 2 onwards. Ken and Ben also came and picked up the box there two with the collection, mums specs, the cd of YNWA and a few booklets that were left on the seats and the family cards that were on the flowers.

We then went to Blackford to meet Graham and Morag at the cemetery as putting one of posies with Papa and Dad. I’m really happy with how Victoria the florist arranged the three posies . Mum would have loved it too.

We went home to Perth and the four of us went to Tabou (again) for food. Laura would have come too but she has been in bed all day throwing up and sore head. Shame. Had a lovely meal again sitting outside as it was still so warm.

I had to take a detour after the meal to the flat as I had left my jewellery there. Picked it up and then passed by the residents lounge. I looked in as there was a lovely bunch of flowers on the table and then I saw the two booklets of Aileen and Mum sitting on their table. I broke down at seeing this. I think it’s these little things that really are like a punch in the guts. The sadness of everything. Also I didn’t have tears like this yesterday but now the floodgates really did open.

Then I went outside and bumped into Loreen. She is broken since her daughter died early this year and she told me that the place won’t ever be the same for her again as Mum was always here (Loreen has been 10 years there) and she will miss her so much. I really feel for her she is struggling. I said are you going back inside and she said no I will have a little walk and then go back in.

I went home and counted out the collection, chatted and fell into bed exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.