Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Random

I felt that today was rather random in what got done or was abandoned (for example, I've not taken out any travel insurance for that new holiday yet ...) I don't know that I achieved anything, and I don't know that it matters, especially now that bed beckons with such allure. It was sunny for much of the day until teatime, when we were once more swathed in thin drizzle, so I washed some bits and pieces and hung them out. I managed to do some yoga before coffee, and I got out to buy flour after it. I was just leaving the health shop when a text pinged in from Di: was I at home? I texted back as I walked up the road, and then had to turn back and wave madly at the figure who had just emerged from the building across the road from where I had just been (I told you everything was random). Di was stranded in town without her car, and no lift home until the afternoon ... and I offered to take her home to her dogs instead of hanging about and having lunch and that was that. Eventually I sat down to some cheese and salad ...

After which I slept irresistibly till the sun came round to waken me. Himself drove to the church to practise; I walked up to join him. That's when I got the three photos in today's collage (I know - I should make up my mind which photo I want!), all of stages in the approach to the church. The left hand one is of the old bridge over the Bishop's Glen burn; the church drive begins to the right just beyond where you can see; the top right shows the farm where Burns's Highland Mary lived on the left and the hills round the Bishop's Glen beyond. You can just make out the small church tower behind the big hedge on the left. The third photo was taken on my way up the drive, with the church door peeping out from under a tree. It's a pleasant walk, all uphill and ending with a steep pull up Kilbride Hill. I just had time to catch my breath before I was singing though a possible anthem ... 

And that was that, really. By the time we had finished the clouds had marched up the firth from the south and there was the beginnings of rain in the air. I walked back home just for the exercise, and made it before any serious wetness. Now I have a headache on the top of my head and think it's probably because of the codeine I've not taken for the past two nights, if that makes sense. And I'm relieved because my French family are safely home after driving all the way from Portsmouth to Edinburgh today.

Funny how you never stop worrying, no matter how little you actually know ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.