Amy & Eoghan

I felt I deserved a slightly lazy day today after last night's meeting. It was quite intense as we mapped out a course for the committee to re-evaluate its policy statements accrued over the last twelve or more years. We have two years to achieve it which sounds a lot but will take a great deal of time from us all. The theoretical aspects of this position are rather new to me, and as chair I will have to keep on top of all the various issues that will arise. But someone needs to do it. But for all of us volunteers, the councillors, it will be a major commitment for the good of the community.

This evening Neil B., popped up the road from his house so that we could go for a drink in our local, the Crown and Sceptre, which is only two hundred yards away. The sun was shining and the air was warm at 6pm by the time we reached the pub's garden. I went to buy a couple of pints of Stroud Brewery's Budding ale which is delicious, and whilst doing so managed to have a brief chat with Rodda, the publican, who is a stalwart of the community which I represent.

Neil and I then chatted, ranging far and wide about work and dreams, how we came to be living in this lovely part of Stroud, which we so enjoy, and then about archaelogy, which is Neil's main interest. You may have seen me blip him before out on location in the Horns and The Heavens valleys where he has been discovering medieval mills, buried buildings, Roman pottery and much more. We plan to go for a walk there across the parts we haven't yet compared notes about. Recently he kindly showed me the final draft of his dissertation about the mill on the Lime Brook and associated discoveries which was fascinating and enlightening.

I had brought my camera to the pub and when he went to refill our glasses, I stood up and took a couple of snaps of the lovely light that was settling over the Heavens woodlands that we could see from the pub garden. Immediately two young children came up to me and asked me what I was doing so I tried to explain. I then spoke to their parents, Nick and Flis, who were sitting at the nearby table, and asked if I could take some pictures as the kids seemed to want that to happen. I got permission and then had about a minute with Amy and Eoghan, who quickly relaxed in front of my rather long lens. Neil then returned with our drinks and I sat down again, although the kids could have carried on playing in front of the lens for ages I think. I offered to send the pictures to Nick and Flis, who have since replied that I can use them for my blip.

I liked this picture best. So many thanks to them all, and hopefully we can meet again on another sunny evening in Stroud! Nick is even now wondering whether he may join Blip too. Lets hope so as we don't have enough blippers in our neck of the woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.