Blush response

By Esper

Is This Right For My Skin Tone?

On This Day In History
1938: Hitler encourages Germans to have more children with the Mother's Cross

Quote Of The Day
"The granting of equal rights to women, which Marxism demands, in reality does not grant equal rights ...... it instead constitutes a deprivation of rights since it draws women into realms of society where they are inferior. The woman has her own battlefield. With every child that she brings into the world, she fights her battle for the nation."
(Adolf Hitler)

My wife and I went to see Barbie at the cinema. Of course, when I say "my" wife I mean "my" in a totally non-possessive sense. She is not "my" wife, she is her own significant, independent person, just as I am not "her" (possessive) husband but an autonomous, self-defined indivdual. I wore my most Ken clothing, and she wore her most Barbie attire but, after the film, I felt my Ken-ergy required a boost so checked out some Kentastic couture. What do you think, is it me?

I would have to say the film was 90% successful; many laugh-out-loud jokes, many salient socio-political observations, superb performances from the entire cast, outstanding sets, costume designs and special effects. I thoroughly enjoyed it, except there were a few things that spoiled it.

SPOILER ALERT!!!! Do not read past here if you plan on seeing the film.

1.) The ending was apalling. Apparently, the resolution of Barbie's journey was to get a vagina. Seriously? Is that it? I cannot think of a more reductive message for a supposedly feminist movie.
2.) Still on the ending, Ken's angst was "fixed" by him realising that "Ken is me." As I watched this, all I kept thinking was, "What the hell does that even mean?"
3.) OK, this is probably going to sound weird and you will probably say, "Esper, it's just a movie, don't take it so seriously." Well, I get that, but no matter how outlandish the fantasy world created in a work of fiction is, it has to maintain its own internal logic, otherwise it doesn't stand up. So, that being said, why is it that Ken has sexual desire for Barbie but Barbie has none for Ken? Both of them have plastic genitalia (as is clearly stated in the film) so either both of them should feel sexual desire or neither of them should. And when Barbie leaves Barbieland, how come Ken is happy with that? Did he lose his desire for Barbie with his "Ken is me" epiphany? Are we to take from this that men don’t really love women, they can totally get off on their own egos if women aren’t around? Surely it would have made more sense for Barbie and Ken to enter the real world together so that they could raise a family, thereby bringing a satisfactory conclusion to both of their journeys.
4.) I wonder what the reaction would have been if the film had concluded with Ken joining the real world and expressing his joy in having acquired a real penis?
5.) Is it sexist for men to make jokes stereotyping women but not sexist for women to make jokes stereotyping men?

Sgt. Rock (Is Going To Help Me)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.