still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Good Morning Astoria

On Tuesday I was given the keys to a 2023 International semi truck that has real time artificial intelligence built in (company truck). It is also the longest truck I have driven - Anyhow my boss didn't have anyone to cover the coast route so knowing my experience they sent me. This truck is 2 feet longer than our older sleeper trucks - more than 6 feet longer than the local day cab trucks. Now take the old city of Astoria and try to maneuver nearly 70 feet of truck and trailer. I had to ignore the GPS twice as there was no chance of making the turns it asked me to do. I had to miss the awning and two poles to get into the customers parking lot - I took up the whole lot. 

I then headed down to Tillamook via 101 and in the extra you can see the road going out of the second place I went to. Nothing like "off roading" in a semi. Finally down to Lincoln City where a customer built a new place. I still had to drive over a curb as that truck just doesn't turn well. By this time I was out of hours and slept there. Wish I could have walk to the water but...

This truck is like Santa Clause - it knows when I am sleepy, it knows when I am speeding, it knows when I'm distracted, it knows when I'm wander out of my lane, it knows...  basically if I have been bad or good... 

Planing to relax Saturday and see my mom on Sunday... Tiger was very grateful for me to be home. Oh and song that fits this trip well here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.