pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A day of two harvests!

I had a really bad night, with a sore throat taking hold which has been threatening for 2 days. My neck is also really achy, which I guess is as a result of the rucksack. I'm really not good with rucksacks.

After showering I got dressed, and went downstairs to start a variety of jobs. Kitchen cleaning, filling the caravan with holiday bits, and finally some garden jobs. I cut the grass, plus the grass nextdoor and then picked my garden produce. I was excited to see 4 ripe figs. Plus mountains of runner beans, yellow French beans, and 2 normal sized courgettes. I spent an hour or so preparing, blanching and freezing the pile of beans in the top photo.

Later I went up the allotment on my bike. Once there, I found as many runner beans as I did in the morning. They are also really long, so I'm pleased with them. I grew at least two types. One with white flowers and one red. I now have another huge pile of beans to sort out! I collected the eggs, and there were 4 more courgettes - two I gave to my allotment friend Ryan and the smaller ones I brought home. Mollie came down with chicken food, and picked a whole punnet of blackberries. I cycled home at 6. Back home I then remembered I hadn't checked the cucumbers and found 3 ready to pick (it seems I had planted this mid sized cucumber)

So in all, a mighty harvest today.

Jon cooked dinner - burgers and chicken on the barbeque. Daniel joined us and it was just warm enough to sit in the garden. Then Mollie drove Dan home. On her way, her car brakes are making an awful noise and Jon says it can't be driven. I feel so sorry for Mollie, as last week she paid £1400 for the cam belt to be changed. We all thought that was going to be the last expense on her car, and that she could now enjoy the rest of the holidays. But now yet something else has gone wrong, and so more to worry about. It is rubbish being a car owner. It makes me think again that it may be worth selling mine now, to avoid extra expense lurking round the corner. And a bit more of my money to help out with the other cars.

I really need to decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.