MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Gluck Google Doodle

The three blooms caught my eye. Morning glory possibly I thought but too pink and the leaves are wrong, though the binding stems are correct. I’d heard of Gluck, whose 128th birthday the Doodle celebrates, thinking them to be maybe a male European creative.

Hannah Gluckstein was actually a British artist born into the wealthy J. Lyons and Co. family. She was gender non-conforming and insisted on being called simply Gluck. I was interested to read that she had an affair with Constance Spry, a famous florist, who I learnt at the time of Queen Elizabeth’s Platinum Jubilee, had created Coronation Chicken.
  
I found a painting of Morning Glory that Gluck took five weeks to complete in 1940. I guessed that this was Sonny Ross’ inspiration for the Doodle and decided to sort of recreate it. I tried unsuccessfully to cover our glass door with a tablecloth to give the correct plain background. I was really amused to see Mishka in one of my shots.

I have since read that Ross’ design was inspired by Gluck’s The Pleiades. The flowers in that painting are small or field bindweed, Convolvulus arvensis. Ross’ colour and stems in the Doodle are true but the leaves are wrong.

PS @sonnyrossdraws has contacted me on Twitter with this. To clear up any confusion, when I paint any flower from reference I tend to look at them once and make up the rest! I'm sure they are wrong, but that's why I am not a photographer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.