This is the day

By wrencottage

Underwhelming birthday

I’ve spent an inordinate amount of time today just waiting.

First of all I was waiting for some time to get through on the phone at 8.00 am to the doctors’ surgery. After I got through, a call back was arranged, so I waited for that. After speaking to the GP I was asked to come up to the surgery, and I sat in the waiting room for some time before I was seen. 

When I got home I went online to make an appointment for a blood test. This is done by visiting the phlebotomy website, giving your details, and then waiting for a return call to book the time slot. I’m still waiting for that one …

All of which wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t for the fact that it’s Smithers’ birthday today. He’s not had the most exciting of days, he’s been looking after me and I didn’t even have a hand made birthday card for him. He’s taken the one I made last year off the desk in his study (which looked like this) and we’ve put that on the dresser in the family room with all the others, in the hope that no-one else will notice! 

But all was redeemed when we had a visit from two special little girls, full of tales of their visit to "The Tiger Who Came To Tea" in London, and full of hugs and kisses for Grandpa on his birthday. My photo is of H’s hair slide, which she was happy to model for my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.