FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Time warp

Had the chance in the far recent, to attend a respite for several weeks and temporarily absolve myself of a lot of responsibility for daily planning, chores and general coping.
During those weeks I had opportunity to gratuitously read, write and confirm unequivocally that I have the artistic aptitude of a plankter.

To this respite I took three books, C. M. Doughty‘s Arabia Deserta Vol‘s I & II (Ed. 1923) and Pierre Grimal‘s The Dictionary of Classical Mythology.

I tended to read Grimal during the day as it had short entries and was nice to read in the lulls between activities, meetings and meals. It readdressed the epics and names of the myth-makers I had been introduced to as a child (not personally … notwithstanding I am of an age). Progressive re-education is a wonderful thing as I don’t recall there being mention of the rampant inter-begetting and felonies between the various characters when I was in early years primary school.

Doughty I read before falling asleep as the concentration required to read his unique writing style tired my old brain out.
It is a Victorian, boy‘s own adventure story, especially Volume II and I am enjoying the diarised aspect of his life threatened experiences.
A Kindle could never provide the wafted (favourite word alert!) redolence at each turn of a one hundred year old page.
Additionally in tactile terms I am finding warm fuzzy excitement in the fact that I am the only person who has read these books in my possession from cover to cover. I know this because in parts of both books, I come across pages within the signatures where I have to gently cut the pages apart (I assume where the guillotine has missed a shy fold).

Before each reading period I look forward, like a new child in an old body, in anticipation of opening these “presents" that are the new, previously concealed pages.

The simple things eh? (Emoji showing rolling of eyes)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.