Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

A small coincidence

I received this photo out of the blue this morning from my friend ‘May’. May and I met when we were eleven, on our first day at grammar school in 1955. The photo shows me, May and May’s mum on a beach in North Devon, somewhere like Croyde or Woolacombe perhaps. Her dad would have taken the photo. I have no memory at all of such a trip to the seaside with May and her parents but evidently it must have happened and May has just found the photo.
 
On this same morning I listened to a BBC podcast of ‘Any Questions’. (It’s a favourite program of ours, useful for keeping up with events in the UK.) As it happened this episode was broadcast from Devon. The first topic was the housing shortage in North Devon, a major cause being the increasing number of airbnbs and holiday homes. I thought how much has changed since our day at the seaside sixty five years ago.
 
I was interested to see that this photo seems to have been printed as one of a strip which could be torn apart (extra). I don’t remember seeing that mode of printing photos before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.