Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Summer Holiday Day 8: Whitby then Home

Here are more photos of today.

Here's the transcription (using Whisper from OpenAI) of the family discussion we recorded of this day:

Summer holiday 2023, day eight and we're in Whitby, a little apartment and I got up
at some 30 and went for a quick walkabout, found Pannet Park which is just
across the street, realised we have to visit this at some point during the day
and then got back and we had to pack up the car again for our final time
we've done it for a sixth time, getting everything ready, getting all
the things packed and into the car keeps you busy and then this is one of
the things that we noticed, the amount of steps and activity that we've done on
this holiday rather than if we had been in Mallorca is like hugely different
and after getting all packed we drove up to the West Cliff car park and we started
our long visit to, yeah, we basically did the West Cliff this morning. Yeah so we
walked all the way along to the little beach huts, yep, the kind of
colourful beach huts and then we walked all the way along the beach, it was very nice, it was
very sunny. We sat on a bench at the top of the cliff for a bit and got some
sun cream on because we realised it was quite windy and it was very, very easy to get
burned in those conditions because you don't realise how hot you're getting and it was
just lovely actually, you know, we're kind of, after the discussion last night
about October Whitby versus Summer Whitby I was thinking now that actually
this is one of the nice bits of Summer Whitby. Oh yeah, totally. And you were
paddling weren't you along the way? I was, I was really kind of feeling quite sad that I
hadn't really been in the sea at all this week. And then I came out and I
found a fossil. I found an ammonite, I found a fossil that was like the rib of an ammonite
but then also like a fossilised cross section of a rib so it was almost like
the kind of like seeing it as you, you know, as you would see it in plain view and then,
but then the, as you would see it in cross sectional view, in the same rock just lying
there on the beach. And then I showed it to Conor and he was like, where did you find it?
But where on the beach? How did you know it was there? How did you see it? Lots of questions.
We walked past the place there but in 2009 Orla was like pointing at the sea,
I want to see. So we, after coming off the beach, we stopped for a bit because I needed
The loo and I had to go in and buy a postcard. At forty pence. Yeah to get some change.
And we sat down at the kind of bandstand and I continued to read to study in
Scarlet. Yeah and there was a lovely little kind of spaniel dog there actually. Yeah there was and then we
walked up the pier and it was a very nice walk, still very sunny. So Conor was originally like,
I don't want to go in the pier because there's too many people on it but actually there weren't that many people on it.
No. Yeah and then he wanted to continue on to do the wooden bit of the pier while I sat on the bench
and continued to read while you three went on the wooden part of the pier. It was very windy.
Yeah but nice to go all the way to the end. Although I was holding very tight to my phone when I got out of my pockets of video.
And just, yeah, just lovely being on the, you know, that, that was lovely. And then, but then, so we then went up to
the Dracula bench which was also nice because it was, nobody was there and it still said keep
munching chips on the fence. Yeah. So I wonder how long the years that'll last. It's lasted at least ten months.
Ten months, yeah. And then, and then back down onto the, the bit, the busy bit. Basically from then on it was just a
mass of people. So what we didn't, well, this weekend is the Whitby regatta. So obviously today was people arriving for the regatta
and plus maybe day trips and stuff so it was a lovely sort of nice warm day. So it was, it was very, very busy.
Yeah. It'll be extremely busy tomorrow. Yeah. And, but we went round to the books, bookshop. Which is, I just love that bookshop.
Yeah. It's not as good as Helmsley's bookshop. No, I actually think it's better. It's got a lot of good bookshop.
It's better because I was looking for Agatha Christie books and the Helmsley bookshop didn't have any and the Whitby bookshop had a whole shelf.
And I. I did a book, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. Which I sadly got spoiled for me by your dead to me podcast. 
And I also bought a book for my Auntie Anne who's had an operation on her spine and is. Coming out of hospital.
But in a lot of pain and stuff. And she likes to read books. So I thought it would be nice to get a book and basically be like bought it for you in Whitby.
Yeah. I got a book as well. I wasn't actually intending to get anything, but I was just looking at the horror fiction.
Yeah. And it does have, that's the other thing. The Whitby bookshop has it in an amazing horror fiction section.
I saw this one book with a cool cover that caught my eye. I picked it up, read the blurb on the back and I could feel myself going, no, no.
Or like you already have like seven books, new books you have to read. You're not getting another one.
But the premise was like unfairly suited to, like it was specifically targeted at me.
Because the whole premise was like a fusion of the premises of my two favourite horror fiction podcasts at the minute.
So I couldn't not buy it and I'm very, very glad I did buy it because it's so good. It's called The Stranger Times.
Because you've received a lot of money for your birthday, so this is exactly what you were going to spend it on.
Books.
Books. And it does make a big difference buying something in Whitby or Helmsley that you can add a special feel to it when you're reading it, you know that you bought it in that place.
Oh, by the way, after we left the bookshop, we went for some lunch.
Oh no, before we went for some lunch, we went to the gallery, the photogallery, and bought a calendar for 2024.
With Whitby on it.
Yeah.
That's right.
And then after that we went to Hadley's Fish and Chip Restaurant for lunch.
And whilst we were there, before we got our food, I wrote the postcard that I'd bought, wrote it to Conor.
Because I said to Conor, why don't you write a postcard?
He wouldn't do it, and I thought, Conor's never seen a postcard, he doesn't know what it is really, didn't understand it.
So I thought I'd write a postcard to Conor and post it in Whitby.
Did you?
I did, yeah. Posted it.
I was like, where is the post office in Whitby? I looked out the window and there was one right there.
Toymaster.
Fish and chip shop.
Lunch.
Yeah, that's where we were.
Sorry, I kind of zoned out.
So I was doing that before our food arrived, and I had three battered sausages with chips and beans, and it was good.
I had a steak pie, and an English one, not a Scottish one.
Conor just had beans and chips.
You may, or I know that you've said that, you have to explain the difference between an English and a Scottish steak pie.
So a Scottish steak pie is just like gravy and steak and sausages sometimes with some pastry stacked on it.
Puff pastry.
And then an English steak pie is like an actual enclosed pie.
Made with short crust pastry.
Yeah, I don't know the difference.
Right, so that's the main difference.
And so then we went down to the Toymaster store where the post office was, and I bought a first class stamp and put it on the postcard to Conor.
Hey Conor, you'll be receiving a postcard for the next, probably maybe even tomorrow.
I already read it.
You read it, did you?
Yeah.
Oh, from the photo?
No, I just took it from you.
I was trying to not let you read it.
Well, you can read it again when it arrives in the post.
You're just posting it to me.
I posted it.
It cost £1.20 for a first class stamp as well.
So you'll have this souvenir, Conor, that's got the Queen's head.
Queen Elizabeth II's.
I think.
I think they're still... Yeah, no, actually it did.
I saw it being put on.
Yeah, I don't think they...
It'll be a while before it.
I think they've created them, but they've not been...
And it'll be...
It'll have a wispy, a wispy postmark.
And it will be from me to you.
From...
I think you've read it.
That's why I asked the question about how her dad's...
What was it called again?
Scarborough.
Yeah, that's why I asked the question.
I read that.
I don't know.
Well...
Anyway, it'll be yours to keep.
Obviously it will go in the archive, but it'll be fun.
So...
And then we...
Crossed the bridge.
Crossed the bridge.
And then went up into Pannet Park.
And learned about...
No, we had ice cream.
Oh, yes, we forgot about the ice cream.
We went to the ice cream parlour and we got ice cream and I had...
I had Bramble Stoker flavour.
And I may have made another accidental...
Boo-boo.
Accidental fool of myself.
Because you didn't get the pun of Bramble Stoker.
I didn't get the pun.
I thought Stoker part was an actual thing
and not a pun on Bram Stoker.
And I asked what it meant.
And it did actually occur to me
that Bramble Stoker is very close to Bram Stoker.
But I...
I knew it.
And I was just like...
Oh, God.
It was just so bad.
That would be funny if you said,
Oh, yeah.
Did you realise that Bramble Stoker sounds a bit like Bram Stoker?
No, not even.
Right.
So, we had ice cream.
While we were eating ice cream.
And then we went into the park.
Oh, but also I had a wooden spoon.
Oh, my...
They feel so weird.
Yeah, but you're saving the planet.
On my lips. I can't...
Bring a teaspoon in your bag.
Sorry?
Just in case.
Thinking about that, just...
You know how horrible it is
just, like, thinking about it.
So, we don't think about it.
So, we went into the park.
And it was lovely.
Given how mad the rest of Whitby is.
Yeah.
And all the people and everything.
And then you go into Planet Park.
It was really quiet, peaceful.
Lovely lawns there.
And lovely trees.
We sat down and I read
The Stranger Times and it was very funny.
I laughed out loud.
And...
And me and Conor made some
time-lapse videos of the clouds.
Only two of them.
Yeah.
You'll like these all.
Erm...
And I took my shoes and socks off.
And that was lovely.
Lovely.
Experience.
And then we walked back to the car.
And then drove home.
It wasn't too long until we got home.
Well...
Yeah, we had to talk about Cranstons.
We stopped off at Cranstons on the way back.
Conor was desperate for a pee.
Desperate for a pee.
Not too desperate.
Well, pretty desperate.
I was pretty desperate as well.
So, we went to the toilet and then we
did some...
We had a look around Cranstons and we ended up
buying...
Kebabs.
Kebabs.
We had literally just eaten.
Very, very, very, very nice.
Yeah.
Which we've had with...
Orla had chicken
and garlic and lemon.
And I had one of them as well.
And then
you had
steak.
And then we also both had a lamb
grill stick.
And then we had it with salad.
And satsuki.
And bread.
And had that lovely
kind of nice to be home feeling.
Yeah.
This place is nice.
We've still got
some unpacking to do tomorrow morning.
And
it's back to school for you tomorrow.
Orla.
Tomorrow's Saturday.
Yeah, but we've got to do the assignment review
meeting for your maths assignment.
Oh, and your
full run through of
the showcase.
When does that start by the way?
12.
Okay.
I have to have a brunch before then.
It's all good fun.
Yeah, it'll be fun.
And that's it?
Yep.
Day eight done.
And
no, we're not going to watch
the final episode of
Good Owens season two tonight
because you're tired.
Because I'm exhausted.
It is quarter to ten.
I need bed.
Yeah.
And that's the end of our holiday.
I think you should change your
bedspill.
Just bring us to here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.