Hampsfella

By KenPetch

Hornet Hoverfly

My attention was drawn, this morning, to a massive insect feeding on the buddleia, maybe twice the size of the other bees and hoverflies.  It looked like a hornet and had a very deep sounding and aggressive buzz.  I took some pictures but the fresh breeze was moving the foliage around a lot so it was difficult to capture.  I tried holding the foliage still with one hand but the fly did not like that and flew at me in a most agressive manner so I backed off just in case it was a hornet.  Having consulted my book, I have identified it as a Hornet Hoverfly, volucella zonaria.  It is Britain's largest hoverfly and a hornet mimic. They became established in this country in1940 initially in the south before extending into the midlands.  It would appear that their range has now extended further north to include Cumbria.  They are totally harmless insects albeit they sound and look rather intimidating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.