nogbad's blips

By nogbad

Kebab & pizza

I've driven past this building any number of times and promised myself that I'd blip it - it was on the TBB list (To be blipped). The tablet above the window proudly proclaims that it is "Market Stores established 1846". To the left of this shot is a railway bridge and the station is away to my left. To the right, over Market Street, is a building which I have a feeling might have been a Masonic Hall and a little further along was The Railway Tavern which was recently converted into houses. Staplehurst proper is along the road running to my right, about half a mile away. 

Nineteen years after this building was opened there was a railway crash a little further along the line. The Staplehurst rail crash, in 1865, killed 10 people and injured many more. Charles Dickens was a passenger on the train, he was unharmed but greatly affected.  

So there it is, I think it's a lovely building with its shaved-off corner. I've geotagged it so that you can check out where it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.