Extra Ordinary

By PhilippaJ

First coat

I used to have an orange front door and I loved it. But then in a fit of selling our house, it got painted blue. Then we didn’t want to sell our house so today I have corrected previous wrongs and we are back to orange. The best colour.

I met Danielle for a walk this morning, we first met in 1990 in when my uni placement job was in the same labs as her first graduate job. We have gone through periods of big closeness and then apartness, usually dictated by geography but also, you know, all of the stuff. They moved to Sussex about 4 years ago, I saw them once then there was the stuff, then covid etc. anyway she texted last week, hurray for her. We spent three hours getting caught up and and agreed not to stop being in touch again. I am delighted.

Home to inspect painting progress, the shed is turning into the colour of the sea and everything. Cleared my van out, found my sea shoes I lost three months ago, received Asda shopping. Nice and productive- tomorrow another mixed day of camping prep and social chit chats. Isn’t a week* off work fab??

* except for the 8:30 meeting I have to go to in the morning, obvs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.