David J. Rose

By djrose007

Musical variety

The birthday bash at Westhall Scout Camp site is still on full swing at 22:00, and showing no signs of abating, although over half the people have now left.
I would think there's about 30 of us left.
The music, and singing, has been non-stop.
A Ukulele Band (blipped in previous years), guitars, a clarinet, accordion, fiddle, flute, bagpipes, all played individually and, at times in groups, with and without singers, and also folk songs with unaccompanied singers. An amazing day that took me back to my folk club days.
Last night I slept in the 'hut', which is anything but a hut. A couple of wings with bunk bedded rooms, toilets, showers, a kitchen and the hall where most of today took place.
This morning I erected my tent and moved my stuff, and freshly washed bike, and will be sleeping outside tonight. My sodden jacket, trousers and boots are drying out nicely and will be fine tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.