Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The Best Plans - oops

So when I built the N scale layout base about 10 years ago, I had installed a TV and DRV on a shelf above the layout.  The room also holds a large treadmill and stationary bike.  Worked fine until I cut the cable (fired) the satellite service.  The service wanted the DVR and cords back.  The DRV  was not a problem.  However, when building the channel for the cords from the TV through the layout to the connections under the table, I forgot one thing - the end of the power cable and HDMI cable were significantly larger than the cord.  Whoops.  I had to saw away a space to pull the ends through.  Lovely.  You can see my wonderful cutting.  

The only good thing is that all my scenery base is styrofoam and it cuts easily.  The topping is sculptamold which is very hard, but cuttable.  What you see is a new styrofoam plug which will get some sculptamold, paint, and ground cover.  The plug will be removable when the next pile of wire needs to move.  Fool me once, etc etc.

A little blue paint on the wall and wires there and we will be good to go.  Would have been WAY easier if I had thought it through the first time.  Oh well - at least I can still run trains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.