Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Congrats Graduates!

This evening's commencement ceremony certainly had its spine tingling moments. This was only the second time our campus has had a graduation ceremony. We've been a satellite campus of RCC for 18 years; the State of California is about to grant us college status. So the "mother ship" cut us free a year ago to have our own graduation ceremony. Last year it was held in the outdoor amphitheatre--it was fabulous. This evening the ceremony was held on the brand new soccer field and that had a magic all of its own. A cool breeze was blowing and we had a view of all the surrounding mountains and foothills.

Two long lines of faculty streamed out of the meeting room and strolled up to the athletic field; just inside the field we stood waiting for the graduates. When the sound of "Pomp and Circumstance" came loudly through the speakers and the graduates began parading through, I blinked back tears and tried to focus my camera as the crowd cheered and applauded. Then I watched instructors step out of the line to hug students and that's a goose bump moment. I love graduation.

I do think that last year the amphitheatre, surrounded on three sides by a cheering audience resonated the energy in a spectacular way. I'm probably a little partial to last year's event for two reasons: it was our inaugural commencement and I was selected by my colleagues to be the faculty speaker. If you've got about 4 minutes, you can see that here. Graduation happens only once a year. I am so glad I get to participate. It's a victory moment. A reward for hard work.

Well, it's very late, but this has been a wonderful, victorious evening with every graduate a celebrity in his or her family.

So finally, good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I'm in the photo in the upper lefthand corner -- it's a "back" blip of me. I'm helping a friend adjust her "costume."

P.P.S. It's "Grad Night" at Disneyland. The place is filled with high school graduates. Oh wouldn't that be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.