Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

3153. New Perth City Museum

The scaffolding and the boards are all down around the newly renovated City Hall which is to house a new and exciting museum collection including the famous Stone of Scone, also known as the Stone of Destiny which has been used as part of the coronations of many Kings including King Charles III most recently.
The building was going to be demolished and I do recall my hubby and I being involved in the consultation about this with the council, who at the time were determined that it would be pulled down as it had been closed and almost derelict for years.  We were delighted when they finally saw sense and decided to renovate it and getting the Stone of Scone was a major coup for those who believed it should be preserved.
It will open early 2024 and I can’t wait to see inside it!

I was at the optician getting my annual eye test this morning and as expected I needed a new prescription.  I do think it’s sad that new lenses cost more to be fitted to existing glasses than buying a whole new frame and lenses together.  I chose some new frames and have decided to go back to reactions lenses as I have tended not to bother with my cocoon sunglasses that I wear over my frames. It took ages to get my eye test and then choose frames etc. so I phoned my hubby and suggested he meet me in town to grab a bite of lunch, which he did.

It’s been a busy week with the prospect of a busy weekend too so I am hoping that tomorrow is a little more peaceful!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.