YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Postcard

In a recent Blip, I mentioned that I a family member had recently came into possession of some photos from my great aunt.  Included in these were a postcard and that postcard was sent to my grandad Ernest.  It is dated 24th December 1914 and the main part of it reads:

Hope you are well.  I think of you every day.  Cecil sent me a nice purse.  You will get your present I think on Saturday.  I just got your address from Norman this morning.  Love From Mother.  Kisses from Annie xxxx

Cecil and Norman were Ernest's brothers and Annie was Ann of the previous Blip.  She would have been 7 at the time.

A few months previously my grandad joined the army to fight in the First World War.  He joined when he was underage.  He was born on 4th December 1898 so when this postcard was sent he would only be 16 years old.  I told his story here

I find it totally shocking that a fifteen and half year old lad could join up.  No checks at all must have been made.  

I found seeing and reading the postcard quite emotional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.