The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Minky Day Rolls Round

And off to the Book Festival as we’d (free) tickets to a kids reading half hour in their delightful yurt. Oh, we’re all so delightfully middle class and Edinburgh. The woman doing the reading, one Amy B Moreno, was the author of the book she was reading. Reading surprisingly badly for a group of under-3s. Slowly she lost the room. The adults who had all been doing their best to keep their little charges engaged began to admit defeat. I mean, that’s a page with a crocodile on it. Make it exciting!! It’s a crocodile coming through a window!!! As the woman next to me waspishly muttered, I don’t think she’d pass her teaching practice in any school I taught at.
Still, we’d a great time afterward playing outdoors and she got a sausage balloon dog thing. And I got a muffin.
Back to the seaside and after an unsuccessful lunch we had a great time playing on the sand as the tide came in. I even made her into a mermaid. 
And later I had just enough energy to board the express bus to hook up with MrT and McC the elder. And how we blethered. Much arty talk, and no talk football or fishing! Well, maybe a tiny bit. My memory’s not what it was.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.