Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Better to travel or arrive?

As it was another grey day, with the washing hanging limply on the line, I used the opportunity to pin down Mr C to discussing our forthcoming van trip. (Time is short as I’m away in Edinburgh next week then we go straight to Traquair House for the Beyond Borders festival followed by a trip to Saltaire to meet up with Essex friends). I spent hours on-line researching possible places of interest while he looked at maps and possible routes.

Well we seem to at odds here - Mr C is with all those below. How about you?

I love to travel, but hate to arrive. Albert Einstein
To travel hopefully is better than to arrive. James Jeans
It is better to travel hopefully than to arrive. Robert Louis Stevenson
So much better to travel than to arrive. Margaret Atwood

However, this means he’d be happy to drive the van all day, find a place to stop and carry on like this every day for over a month, preferably on challenging roads over precipitous mountain passes. He wants to dash to Romania one way and back another. I prefer to stop at places of interest, be it an old town, museum, church, or just a pretty walk. I found a route south through Germany called the Romantic road, visiting old towns, then another from Fussen following the Alps just north of Austria to Berchtesgaden and the Eagle’s Nest. Now he’s interested. We can also nip in to Liechtenstein for a walk called the Princes Way which involves steel wires and ladders. Now he’s very interested. Satzberg is a possibility - a Mozart concert perhaps (but not the Sound of Music Trail). No surprise there. I’m still nowhere near Romania, so neither of these books has been used. I’ve given up for today as I’m cross-eyed from reading screens.

I had 2 small wins on Premium Bonds today. To celebrate I made a salted caramel ice cream. The freezer is full, what with fruit and veg from the garden.

#3 daughter and family are home, having had a wonderful time in Granada. There’s a very good science museum which the children loved. #2 and co should be in the ferry queue for Netherlands and on to Germany to centre parcs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.