chaos

By Chaos

Portage Lake

So I figured out what happened to me yesterday. Someone switched coffee beans on me and gave me decaf! Can you believe it?! Don't ever let that happen to you! Let me tell you there is such a thing as caffeine withdrawal.

Well this morning I got my full strength double shot soy latte and I feel much better, and thank goodness.

Now, back to Alaska.

This is Portage Lake, about 50 miles south of Anchorage. We went for a early morning drive.

Portage Lake was created behind the terminal moraine of Portage Glacier as it began receding. Burns Glacier, a hanging glacier, is visible in the middle at a distance. Portage Glacier is hidden behind the outcropping to the right of Burns Glacier.

Many times there are true ice burgs that break off the glaciers and tumble into the lake. We will have to wait until summer to see these.


Portage Lake, Alaska (google maps)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.