MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

I Heard Six Merlins

We were deep under trees in Butterfly Alley when I heard a lovely-sounding aircraft but couldn't see it. I have found out since it was a Lancaster with its four Merlin engines.

I was photographing a dove on the TV aerial when I heard a Spitfire with its Rolls Royce Merlin engine approaching. I didn't manage to fumble the correct settings in time and wasn't happy with my shot. It was followed by a Mustang with its Packard Merlin engine and I got the above shot. I photographed Mustang Tall in the Saddle earlier this year but this is the first time I've shot 413779. It was built in California in 1944 and is painted with the markings of Col Donald Blakeslee of the 4th Fighter Group. It provides passenger flights at Biggin Hill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.