TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Parcel2Go? A big no-no

Transporting boxes of stuff to Canada is an expensive business, these days. But when you are caught between a rock and a hard place, best to just bite the bullet. 

A friend recommended Parcel2Go, a company that compares courier companies and then provides a quote for you. He advised me, however, to be careful about the weights and measmurements of the parcels, as "they tend to come back at a later date and claim you owe them money." Duly noted.

And, as per the warning,  week after posting the parcels in the UK, I get an email telling me that, due to various administrative issues, one of the parcels had to be dealt with manually and would I transfer £62 to them forthwith.

I fired back an email using words such as "egregious" and "abuse" and "off" - and they came back with a couner proposal of £31. Chancing baskets. 

Fortunately, I still had the box in which my prized Nigerian shield was shipped: so measurements were taken and subsequent emails fired off. I'll see if they drop the asking price to £15.50.

By the way, Parcelforce was by far the best option. FedEx was expensive and UPS a joke. There's no charge for that information.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.