SoozaDay

By soozaday

My Grandfather’s Table

Nearly a hundred years old, this table and chairs just arrived here from Connecticut, where they had been living with my cousin for many years. In some ways it seems silly to move old furniture three thousand miles across country, but I remember this table from Thanksgiving and Christmas feasts, especially those big carved legs. I don’t know how everyone managed to fit around it. We’ll see how many we can seat when the time comes! It gives me great pleasure to sit in my grandfather’s chair, the one with the arms.

We are trying to rearrange our lives to go with the new furniture. Over the years we’ve developed a habit of doing everything at the dining room table. Each of us has a pile of Important Stuff at our place, and each of us also has a phone, an iPad, a calendar—you get the drift. So the goal is to do all this work somewhere else and keep the table for eating. It’s probably a good idea to get up and move around anyway. Ah, but I dawdle over breakfast, doing puzzles, playing on my iPad, reading. It’s interesting to try and find new ways to do things. Stay tuned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.