Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Sense of Speed

Our last morning at Newmarket.  I was again up early, but this time to grey conditions, which persisted throughout my time on the Gallops.  It seemed appropriate to try some slow shutter speed photography, with a bit of experimentation to achieve a sense of movement, while getting the jockey and horse in  focus.

Have to say there were a limited number of keepers, but in the end I came up with a combination of shutter speed and panning movement that seemed to work.

It's been a great week in an area of the country I've not visited before.  We finished with a tour of the National Stud, though probably not the best time of year to visit it being relatively quiet now the breeding season has finished.  If you ever think of going, we were told May is a busy time with lots of activity and new born foals to see.  I'm no expert on horse racing, but I did recognise the name of one of the stallions, Stradivarius, and there was a statue of Mill Reef that was famous in the 70s.

Then it was time to wend our way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.