tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Well walled

I went to see a friend who's staying in St David's* on Quickwell Hill and afterwards I went to look for any sign of the well. I thought 'quick' might refer to speed or to liveliness but I was wrong, as I later discovered. The name is an Anglicization of the Welsh cwcwll meaning hood or cowl, and not holy except in the fashion that pretty much everything in St D's was holy in days gone by. (Now it's chockablock with tourists and, increasingly, modern pilgrims. I passed an old school that has been re-assigned as a hostel for them.)

I didn't find the well but I came to this immense wall which dates from the 14th century and once enclosed the cathedral and ecclesiastic dwellings, separating them from the town and presumably walling off the well. (The wall has putlog holes which I recently learnt were made to accommodate  old-style scaffolding poles.)

Water seeps through the wall in several places, including the one shown above)  and lower down was a niche in another wall which might have been the site of a well or pump but is now dry.**

*St David's has officially lost its apostrophe which, to the grammar pedant, implies it is the place of more than one St David. Punctuation vanishing along with wells. 

** Coflein (online catalogue of historic sites) says of the former well:
"Stone beehive shape, roof probably of corbell construction. Well 8ft-9ft deep, door blocked 1950."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.