Auguries

By McCaviti

Rosemary for Remembrance

This is a pretty boring pic, but since I know my future self (the principal audience of this journal) well, I know I will want some remembrance of our GF endeavors as we try to help my daughter deal with her tummy pain.

This is some chickpea, olive and rosemary flatbread from Cook, Nourish Glow. Pretty pleased with how it looks, but even though I love all the ingredients not sure it will be delish (or keep its form).

My sister is helping out while we’re away, and there’s always takeaway sushi nearby, but my caterings for our absence include GF pasta with bol sauce, nachos with everyone’s fave refried black beans, GF cereal, chia bircher snack cups, corn thins and the ever familiar corn tortillas to toast with cheese. Plus heaps of strawberries (v cheap), and coleslaw (which is always unaccountably popular).

Of course, they’re quite old enough to be self sufficient but I do want to encourage GF for a month, and she did have appetite for butter chicken (a fave) last night and today lunch.

Otherwise, the main activity of the day was catching up with Marg and Felicity, soccer mom friends and Year 12 parenting sympathizers.

Of note - even though we are now appartment living, and fresh herbs dry up so quickly in our northern sun soaking, rosemary is always easy to come by, growing in a hedge twixt shops and home.

Of note 2, rosemary for remembrance has special vibe in this household from
an ANZAC day speech my daughter was selected for when she was 8 (she disagreed with the received pronunciation of remembrance but eventually agreed to
succumb to it (while noting her actual correctness).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.