VarietyRose

By VarietyRose

DAY TWENTY ONE: Comfort

Today has really been all about food. 

It was a drizzly morning as I wandered across to the central market for a flat white and croissant. The bustling market is piled with an abundance of baked goods, vegetables, meats and tasty things in jars, so I found a perfect spot for people-watching with my breakfast. From here I headed for a vintage cowboy boot shop, but arriving before they opened I sheltered from the rain with freshly squeezed orange juice in the next-door brasserie. 

Next, I took a bus trip to Hahndorf, a german settlement and tourist honeypot and had a surreal afternoon where I enjoyed apple strudel and excellent glühwein (not too sweet and made from local wine). Attempts to see the view from mount lofty summit were thwarted by the thick cloud.

Back in Adelaide I sought out a restaurant described as 'modern australian' and 'the best on Peel St' and was not disappointed when  served a beautiful and delicious whole roasted harissa cauliflower alongside homemade focaccia, hummus and pomegranate. 

I did photograph some of the food, but this open fire in a leather shop in Hahndorf captured the cosy (if soggy) atmosphere of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.