Arachne

By Arachne

Oppenheimer

1. I'm really bad at understanding American.
2. I have weak facial recognition skills and it takes me ages to work out who's who.
3. It also took me quite a while to make sense of the time shifts and separate the two interrogations.
4. I'm used to that weird film thing where important men stride out of conversations after they've made their point but three hours of it is wearing. (Though I guess I'm tediously used to the equivalent mental switch-off so maybe it's just a cinematic way of doing the same thing.)
5. The what-are-we-getting-ourselves-into line is very interesting and rich and I thought that the climate catastrophe was the intended allusion but couldn't be completely sure until we were hit over the head with it at the end. Could have been more integrated without detracting from the storyline? Maybe?
6. Nakedness under interrogation? Oh, clever!
Anyway, it made me go and read a bit more of the history which can only be a Good Thing.

I also read some reviews afterwards, some of which were surprised that a non-Jewish actor was cast in the title role. Sticking my neck out uncertainly here, because I understand a bit about power and oppression, but I don't have a problem with that. Do I need to do more thinking about the dynamics of (colour-)blind casting? I'd be interested in thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.