Gaia's Child

By maura143

Who? Who? Who Cooks for You?

This large Barred Owl sits in our Winged Elm, on a branch overlooking the pond. She's been there for at least three hours and still remains as I type this. Intently watching me as I moved around taking photos, much more interested in watching for the residents in the pond below than concerned about me. Our bullfrogs, leopard frogs, black racers and other serpents are a large part of her diet. She has changed position a couple of times to get a better look at the bog which is slightly elevated and located at the back of the pond. The dogs know that she's there but after initially spotting her are now in 'ignore mode'. The local Crow Murder stopped by to try and chase her away but weren't successful and they flew off to bother someone else.  She's still there and might just spend the day. Owl Drama! I love it!
Do check the *extra...for an another photo of this beauty. 
Barred Owl call

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.