Livresse

By Livresse

LBB8

I didn't do much today, apart from work... However I finished my second book for Love Blippin' Books. The prompt for August, hosted by lizzie_birkett was "It's all in the past", and I chose 2 books for it.

I must betray you by Ruta Sepetys is set in Romania, in 1989, and depicts life under dictator Nicolae CeauČ™escu as well as the event of Christmas 1989 when the Christmas Revolution puts an end to it. It is a YA book, but don't let this put you off. The research is meticulous and the story engaging. 


The second book is The storyteller of Casablanca by Fiona Valpy. It is a dual narrative book, with the historical part being told though a diary. In 1941, Josie has fled occupied France with her family to Casablanca from where they hope to go to America. Seventy years later, Zoe arrives in Casablanca, a struggling expat wife, hoping for a fresh start. There she discovers Josie's diary...
I enjoyed it - I found the two voices distinct enough, and particularly enjoyed Josie'.. The reveal was not really a surprise - I had guessed it but that didn't really spoil the enjoyment..

The image is totally unrelated but I had forgotten to take a photo so that's an emergency one ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.