Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

All the fun of the Fringe!

The forecast wasn't too good for Edinburgh today - some sunshine in the morning, then dull with the possibility of rain during the afternoon, with strong winds. Not what I would have chosen for a day's photography in the Royal Mile! It didn't happen - before long the dull sky turned to brilliant sunshine for the rest of the afternoon!

I took the bus into the town centre and walked up to the Mile. Various artistes and performers were beginning to set up their displays, but it was a while before it all got under way. During the day I must have walked up and down the Mile at least four times - my knees were killing me!

All the usual folk were there; the lady in bronze who didn't move and them  made people jump, the fire juggler - my Blip today - the usual folk mucking about and handing out leaflets for their shows and a number of different singers. One girl was a surprise - see extra - as when she was setting up I expected her to sing modern pop, but when she began it was a total surprise. She sang a number of songs such as 'Hallelujah', 'Nessan Dorma' and a couple of others that you'd expect to hear from Sarah Brightman. She had the most incredible voice - I could have listened to her all afternoon - but after a while she gave way to another girl, very good too, but not in the same league. 

A wonderful day and I came back with 237 pictures, which I'll probably reduce by at least a third! Actually I'll put another extra on - can't miss out the bronze lady!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.