secret garden

By freespiral

Shelter from the Storm

Well it was a wet and wild night but no damage thankfully. Still a bit of wetness in between the dry today. We nipped into Bantry. Himself decided he was up to the shopping and I came in to do stuff and sort of help out a little. By the time he had done his shopping - Lidl and Supervalu - I had done none of my jobs, instead I had been distracted by a talk going on in the library, as part of Heritage Week, on the history of the library and it was very interesting. The library was built between 1972-74 and was very unique, as the man said not sure you can be very unique but I won't quibble - and is based on the Poulnabrone dolmen.  The materials chosen were also innovative - concrete, aluminium and glass with intriguing and precise uses of natural light. It is moated by a mill stream, the mill wheel still in situ and dramatic. Actually very impressive and daring when you examine it.

Robert and Finola happened to be there too and we decided to go and have a coffee and catch up afterwards. Absolutely no chores done by the time Himself joined us!

In other news - three jays were scoffing the apples on the tree during the storm; and very cheekily I blame the Professor of Holy Wells in Tennessee whose idea it was, I have sent off a copy of my book to Neil Jordan who has just published his new book -  The Well of Saint Nobody, set in West Cork and features miraculous goings on at a holy well!  

And the shop in Bandon where there were hordes of farmers well at least two were inquiring about the book have sold out! I blame the Farmers' Journal! 

And it's International Photography Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.