Beewriter

By Beewriter

A Spiffing Day

I started the day with a couple of laps of the dock and then Pat and I decided to go on a little jaunt to Lytham. It is the 1940s weekend and a very good opportunity to get out my land girl outfit...thankfully it still fits! 

The traffic was horrendous as we drove up the M61 as there was a match on at Bolton Wanderers...the hilariously, completely inappropriately named ToughSheet Stadium. We crawled along the motorway, we sloped through Chorley and we hit the Blackpool queues, but eventually we arrived. (I did think it would have become the 1950s weekend by the time we arrived...ha ha). As we reached the town the 1940s vehicle parade drove past us and we had a top view as the traffic was halted for it. We found a parking spot and then had a good old mooch around.

There were stalls and exhibits and it was great to be on the coast in the sunshine. It was too windy for the Spitfire fly past sadly, but we had a good time. Pat took a photo of me with a 1940s policeman, she nearly dropped her phone for laughing when I asked him to get his truncheon out though. His face was a picture too. 

We stopped off at St Annes and had a walk on the beach on the way home. With all that swimming, walking, fresh air and laughing I shall sleep well tonight!

A spiffing day out....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.