iaint

By iaint

Big Day Out (v2)

What a day this has been. 

First of all came my usual Parkrun, at Kirkcaldy again. The weather was much kinder than last week. I am grateful for that. I am sure all the volunteers were too. 

Pretty much as soon as I had finished my shower (etc) I was back in the car for the 15 minute drive to the nearest park and ride to catch a bus to Dundee. 

Plan A involved a second bus from there to Arbroath so I could go to the Arbroath v Queen's Park football match. But, the first bus did not arrive. I waited almost 30 minutes, and at that point had to find a Plan B or I would miss the start. 

Plan B turned out to be to drive there and back - the least attractive option. In spite of traffic chaos in Dundee (which may account for the missing bus) I was in Arbroath at just about the right time.

It was well worth the effort. It was a tense game which could have gone either way, but our lot grabbed it 1-0. 

The sun came out at half time and it turned into a lovely afternoon (one side of my face is a bit pink). After the game I bought fish and chips and ate my treat in the best place - right by the harbour. 

I got my Blip at the harbour. My Extra is the pie shop servicing the visiting fans. It was very popular. I restrained myself, thinking of the fish and chips I had promised myself after the game. 

One of the local delicacies on the menu is a "steak and black pie" (£3). The "black" is black pudding. We will have another trip to Arbroath later in the season, and I will have to try one. Or two... the sea air gives me an appetite. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.