Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Minotaur

Breakfast and packing up for S as she headed home at lunchtime. Dropped her at the station then home for a quick phone meeting about KPIs before sorting out airport parking for A&N, returning tonight from their holiday in Turkey. Realise I should have booked it in advance so after collecting her car I had to wait for an hour or so before I could drop it off. Since I was over at that end of town I went into the new bakery Patina at South Gyle to try it out. Very good extra laminated pastries but I wasn’t hungry so just had a look and a cup of tea sitting outside in the sun (although being blown around by a very energetic breeze!).
Dropped off the car and took some photos of the route to find it then caught the (very busy!) tram back to town and walked home.
A bit later out to meet CK for some Nepalese food (very tasty) and then Phaedra/Minotaur. First piece was a Britten solo sung piece with piano.. It was incredibly well sung by Christine Rice but not really my favourite type of music. After another long interval wrestling what looked like a blood splashed climbing wall into place the second half started. This was a three handed dance which was beautiful, and at some points the dancer playing the Minotaur moved across the climbing wall, sometimes upside down, sometimes holding slow seeming impossible positions, and then scampering across apparently barely touching the bumps and ledges. Represented the trials of moving through the labyrinth I guess, and really impressive. The evening was made a bit irritating by the woman next to me who took her shoes off and sat up on her legs, with one foot on my seat! Her phone screen kept turning on too, and I nearly told her to put it away as she just sat with it in her hand, apparently oblivious….grrr!
Quick walk home and straight to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.