Cailleach

By Cailleach

The best man I ever knew....

Hopefully, you'll forgive me for posting a photo of a photo - but this is my favourite snap of me and my dad.

We were at my cousin's wedding, and just as the photographer said 'smile', I sneezed. (That's me just before the 'achoo' bit!) I think another, more smiley photo was taken, but my dad liked this one, and it sat on his desk in our house until the day he died, thirteen years ago today.

When my brother and I were arranging the funeral, we were both extremely upset and in shock, but the undertaker was very matter of fact about the whole business.

'There's been a lot of deaths this week,' he said brightly. 'The bodies have just been stacking up!'

Already in a very emotional state, I remember trying not to catch my brother's eye in case I started laughing, but when the man continued with, 'In fact, it'll be hard squeezing in a cremation at all this week. We might have to put it on a back burner', we both had to excuse ourselves and leave the room.

Sometimes, it's ok just to give in to the giggles - my dad would have approved.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.