MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Spit And Lanc

I had a shot in mind. A footballer hoverfly with a football in the background. I got all manner of winged insects like that but the footballer hoverfly didn't settle in the correct position. :( Such a shame that the Lionesses were beaten.

I was hoping that the Lancaster would return this afternoon. I wasn't disappointed. Lovely to hear and see The City Of Lincoln, one of only two Lancasters still flying. I got a sharper shot but prefer this because of the angle and context.

A bonus to get a Spitfire. PS853 is unarmed and was used for photographic reconnaissance. It appeared in the Battle of Britain film and flies with the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight. It has a Griffon rather than a Merlin engine. These aircraft had impressive low level performance and a throaty rumble rather than the iconic, indescribable, sweet sound of the Merlin.

PS My information is out of date. I saw images on Twitter of a Lancaster in camouflage paint flying at Old Warden last evening (20th). Just Jane has been restored to flying condition so there are now three of these iconic aircraft which are airworthy.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.