Happy Haggis

This evening was my second visit to the Happy Haggis in Aviemore.

The Happy Haggis has been there for as long as I've been visiting Aviemore, which is probably about 4o years, and I got into real trouble on my first visit.

I'm not sure exactly when my first visit was but I suspect I was in my mid or late-teens.

My family used to regularly spend Christmas or New Year in Aviemore, and my brother and I would go walking in the Cairngorms or in Glenmore Forest or on the Rothiemurcus Estates near Aviemore. On the 'Happy Haggis' occasion we had been dropped somewhere with the plan that my father would at some point later in the day pick us up to ferry us back to the hotel. His plan was to drive along the road we would finish up walking along until he spotted us (remembering that in December it gets dark pretty early in northern Scotland). Somehow the timing went awry, and my father wound up driving up and down the dark roads, getting increasingly worried, and no doubt starting to think about calling the Mountain Rescue.

And why is the Happy Haggis relevant? My brother and I had made much faster progress down the road than expected, and when we reached the Happy Haggis it looked to two hungry teenagers like the ideal place to wait.....

And about my latest visit, they still do a fantastic fish supper, every bit as good as I remember.

1045/3087

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.