AMealIAteToday

By AMealIAteToday

Chicken

Chicken breast and homemade pasta.

My first experiment with cooking since discovering my sense of smell has forsaken me went pretty well. Tastes are obviously muted, but some more so than others. I went easy on the salt, because I've already noticed it really comes to the fore in everything. With flavors more dampened, texture is even more present, so I made handmade pasta (which has one of my favorite food textures). I've also noticed that fats are not dampened at all, so I tossed the pasta in good olive oil with plenty of parmesan (and raw garlic so that it was harder to miss). The herbs and all of the spices except chili powder might as well not have been on the chicken at all, though my husband enjoyed them (and was stunned I couldn't taste the fennel). Good things to learn for the short term... and hopefully only the short term. I've already had my first well-landed joke about the situation which involved my assertion that a certain bodily byproduct of mine didn't stink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.