The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Heaven

The usual collection and reading of papers, followed by the more unusual (for me) shopping for the evening’s meal and Sunday’s breakfast.
And then out to the Traverse to see Heaven, a play by one Eugene O’Brien about a couple travelling back to their old town to attend a wedding; and through a series alternating biographical monologues (yes sirrreee) we gradually build up a picture of them and their disintegrating marriage. I thought it was really excellent. 
Meeting the SK’s sometime colleague L, and well connected arty person afterwards however, we were put right. I didn’t like it, she said, quite dismissively (I could tell her opinion counted for much more than other people’s). Pressed to enlarge on her terse criticism, she summed it up: very Traversey. There’s a put down, eh? I shall use that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.