If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Squirrel ( Sciurus vulgaris )

After seeing a Squirrel on the trail camera when it was pointed at the lawn I moved it to cover the feeder.  I was hopeful later in the day when I saw my carefully counted and placed Hazelnuts had been moved.  Taking the camera inside I looked through the shots.  Sure enough, the squirrel had been responsible, iI was a little doubtful as when we used to feed peanuts Rooks learned to open the feeder and get them.  I didn't really think Rooks would be the culprit but when you have watched ducks swallowing chestnuts you will expect anything.

It is very pleasing to get the Reds back after a couple of years without them.  Locally we have pheasant shooting and this curtails the rangers ability to find and remove greys.  When Greys meet Reds it is almost inevitably a death sentence for the Reds.  The majority of greys carry squirrel pox, they are immune but Reds face a long lingering painful death as they have no immunity.  The ranger reported a number of greys had arrived while he was unable to get into the woods because of pheasant shooting.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.