Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Farewell Oslo

Home and doing a last minute blip but fortunately I got the picture earlier in the day.

Another interesting day. The military helicopters were back today but this time they did a full rehearsal for a raid on a building with guys leaving the helicopters on ropes, landing on the roof of the building, throwing stun grenades into the building and then abseiling down the walls and crashing through the windows. Those grenades made one hell of a noise and that was from my perspctive a couple of hundred metres away. If you were in that building, the effect would be significant.

I left the office at 3 the theory being that I would miss the rush hour traffic on the drive to the railway station. What I didn't realise was that in the summer, the Norwegians pretty much en mass switch to a 4 day week so Thursday was the new Friday and I hit rush hour because 3 o'clock is also the new 5 o'clock.

Brought myself a snacky lunch in the airport - sandwich, yoghurt and a bottle of water. The yoghurt beat the beer of the previous day for cost, coming in at over a fiver for an individual yoghurt.

Good to be back home, but if I was looking for somewhere else to live, Norway would have to be a serious consideration. They have got a lot of things right and I'm assuming the salaries make £5 yoghurts seem like nothing at all :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.