Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Down to the Wire

My kestrel took ages to reappear after I'd got into my tent hide and then only came onto the nearest wire once. The wind was coming from the south because of which she spent a good deal of time after feeding on the ledge of the electricity transformer preening and sheltering. When she dropped from the wire it seemed to be always in the wrong direction for me and /or maybe she's exhausted some of the vole holes which are closer. 

I read that kestrels need to eat 4-8 voles a day, will cache the extras and that they can catch a beetle 50m away from their perch. The hovering is high energy feeding but there was none of that today. 

Last day of tablets today - Yay! Let's hope I've kicked some of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.